The Sound Stylistics

Funk Big Band

Recorded in 2002 as a Bruton library album, the Sound Stylistics first album ‘Deep Funk’ weaved its way into funk folklore for collectors the world over, becoming a word of mouth phenomena and a collectors dream, due to its failure to ever get a proper release.

Despite file-sharers, bootleggers and back-street dealers pushing illegitimate copies of the tracks, the legendary status of this lost album never waned. In May 2007 it finally received an official release on the Freestyle label.

The album was a number one jazz download on iTunes Japan on it’s release, and has received rave reviews worldwide from all the specialist soul and funk record dealers.

Performed by some of the best musicians on the planet, and a veritable who’s who on the London funk scene, the album featured the classic JTQ rhythm section of James Taylor (organ), Gary Crockett (bass) and Neil Robinson (drums) alongside guitarists Eddie Roberts (New Mastersounds) and Mark Van der Gucht (Galliano).

They were joined by Fender Rhodes phenomenon Jim Watson (Brand New Heavies, Incognito and Zero 7) and the heavyweight horns of Dominic Glover (trumpet - Brand New Heavies & Incognito), Andy Ross (sax - The Herbaliser), Mike Smith (Sax - Jamiroquai) and Nichol Thompson (trombone - Brand New Heavies & Incognito). The album also had percussion from the legendary Snowboy, additional drums from Simon Lee (Dr. Seuss) and guest vocals from Noel McKoy.

Collectively they make up The Sound Stylistics, a jam band of the highest order.

Now the follow-up album ‘Greasin’ The Wheels’ has been waxed, and the story continues. With a similar Herculean lineup it’s another explosive collection of monster tracks.

The band have played numerous gigs at London’s Jazz Cafe, Tokyo’s Blue Note, and various festivals to sell-out crowds. The live line-up of six horns and five rhythm is explosive and has taken the funk scene to a new level!